August

It’s a new month.  I thought I’d try something new this month in our home….

The Hubby & I are both very picky eaters, but on the opposite side of the pickiness scale – he likes donuts, cookies, beer, spaghetti, steak, burgers, pizza, & potatoes.  I like wine, spinach, veggies, fruit ((flavored candy)), soup, chicken pot pie, pasta, spicy sausage, & wraps, plus I always ask for everything with extra lettuce when we go out to eat.

homemade braided bread

So since we’re weird & I have to find something that will satisfy both of us, I end up making the same things over & over again.

Some of them I’m completely fine with this – like the Olive Garden Zuppa, Italian Stew & Guinness Stew.  The Hubby will eat these even though he’s a self proclaimed soup hater – these are excellent cuz they’re packed full of veggies ((except Zuppa, it’s pretty much just potatoes, bacon, sausage & kale)), filling, pretty easy to make & they last two or three meals for us.

Zuppa However, I’m sick of always shopping for BLTs, tacos, lasagna, spaghetti.  It seems like those four things we have almost every week for the past few months!

Anyway – I’ve decided that I am going to try three new recipes a week for all of August.  Most of these I’ve found on Pinterest, although there are a few that are from cookbooks I’ve had for years & never opened!  I’m not entirely sure if I’m going to let The Hubby ok the dinner selections ((I normally run the list by him before going grocery shopping)) since he’ll turn up his nose at a thing or two….but when they’re set in front of him, he’ll at least try them!

cut braided bread

If you’re interested in joining me try new things this month, my Pinterest is here.  I have a Bread, Soup, Meals & Sides, Potatoes, Desserts, & Beverages boards I’ll be pulling recipes from.

What’s your go-to recipe?
How often do you try something new?
Would you like to see the recipes on here?

 

The photos shown here are braided bread that I love making & a copy cat Olive Garden Zuppa Toscana.  I always make them together & we demolish about half a loaf of bread & the entire pot of soup in one day….not necessarily one sitting, but we have managed to eat slowly, go back for thirds two hours later & finish it before bed on more than one occasion.  It’s that good.
This entry was published on August 3, 2013 at 3:34 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “August

  1. “You, like, never ate soup before?!” hahaha

Leave a Reply

