Caramel Apple Cider Cookies

Today is too windy to finish either the chairs or the dresser  I started refinishing yesterday.  All that remains is a couple coats of spray paint and I’ll FINALLY have four dining room chairs!  The Hubby and I have been eating dinner on the couch since the top coat takes a week to fully cure.  As of tomorrow, three of the four will be ready for use! WOOHOO!!

Since I’m stuck inside, creatively, I decided to bake. Surprise!  It is really really nice out, minus the wind, so I attempted to find a recipe that was low heat for a short time…. good joke, right?  Then I remembered that one of my awesome friends is in love with these particular cookies she calls, Now, please block your eyes if you are young or get uncomfortable in awkward situations.  Autumn Orgasms.  I giggled a little but still have mixed feelings about calling them that.  They are really good.

I mean, look at that caramel!  Mmmmmmm….

Now, dear readers and bakers, these are best eaten warm.  If you store them, nuke them for 5 seconds – just 5.  Seriously.  I burnt myself after 7 seconds.  It’s bad news.

Caramel Apple Cider Cookies 

1 cup softened butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 box (7.4 oz) Alpine Spiced Apple Cider Instant Original Drink mix -not sugar free- all 10 packets ((it’s normally hiding near the hot chocolate mixes. At our store it was one aisle over.  Also, I drank one first, so I only used 9 packets.))
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3 cups all purpose flour
1 bag Kraft Caramels (14 oz)
Cream together the sugar, butter, salt, and all of the unused Apple Cider packets.  If you cheated like me I won’t tell.  I promise.
Look at it go! Go mixer go!
Once that’s fluffy, beat in eggs and vanilla.  Gradually add flour, baking soda and powder, and cinnamon.  I also added two drops of red food colouring because apples are red.
Refrigerate for an hour.  In the mean time, line a couple cookie pans or baking sheets or both with parchment paper and start unwrapping your caramels.  You’ll be using the whole bag.  Also, preheat the oven to 350.
Grab a spoon and start scooping out dough.  You’ll need a little less than a normal sized cookie amount…. aka if they look too big, pinch a little dough off.
Flatten it out in your hand, pop a caramel in the center, and roll it into a ball.
Start lining them up on your cookie sheet, then pop em in the oven!
Bake for 12-15 minutes, rotating half way through.  You do NOT want them to overbake! If they start turning brown on the edges at all it’s over.  Bring em out!
Once they’re done baking, slide the parchment paper off the cookie pan and let it cool directly on the counter or cooling rack.
When cookies are cool enough to be firm but still slightly warm, twist them off the parchment and let them finish cooling upside down.  It doesn’t matter if you finish cooling them on the paper or cooling rack.
Eat immediatly :0)
.
If I make these again, I will be chopping up the caramels and putting them in the mix right away.  That’ll eliminate the refrigerating step and stop there being a giant GLOB in the middle of the cookie.  Don’t get me wrong, these are good, but I grew up with homemade caramels.  You either suck them or good luck gettin your jaw open, pal.  I’m not used to the chew chew chew chew, breathe, chew chew chew chew chew finally take another bite and repeat until you’re past the center.  That’s the worst when they’ve fully cooled.  Plus I think caramel bits sprinkled about would be cute, surprising, and gooeyer.
.
Have you made these?
Did you try this recipe?
Leave me a comment and let me know!
This entry was published on October 25, 2012 at 10:18 am. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Cider Cookies

  1. I’ll try these and add chopped nuts. Thanks.

  2. We LOVE our Alpine Spiced Apple Cider! I WILL be making these now that our weather is colder.
    They sound delicious! Thanks for posting this.

  3. Pingback: Carmel Apple Cider Cookies « Bear River Homestead

Leave a Reply

