C is for Cookie….

Let me start off by saying…. I’m in love.  Not with cookies, I like them sure, but I’m totally in love with Andrew Lee Potts.  And Primeval.  When I can’t sleep I watch Alice.  It’s a syfy production of Alice in Wonderland.  ALP is the Mad Hatter.  It’s four hours long.  I love it.

At this moment I’m listening to Primeval.  It’s a British show were a group of people fight dinosaurs and monsters that come thru anomalies from the past.  Or future.  People ALWAYS stare at me when I try to explain it.  I’ve seen 5 seasons three times.  So I just listen when I’m editing photos and writing these up.  If I ever seem distracted during the posts….. now you know why.  I may be Abby for Halloween sometime soon.

 

Gingersnap Cookies

3 cups flour
2 tsp. Ground Ginger
1 tsp. Ground Cinnamon
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. Ground Nutmeg
1/4 tap salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup molasses
1 egg
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Combine butter and brown sugar with an electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy.
Mix flour, ginger, cinnamon, baking soda, nutmeg and salt in large bowl.
Add molasses, egg, and vanilla; beat well. Gradually beat in flour mixture on low speed until well mixed.
Press dough into a thick flat disk, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate 4 hours or overnight.  ((I actually put mine on cookie sheets, wrapped the sheets in plastic wrap, and stacked those in my fridge overnight.))

Preheat oven to 350°F.
Roll roughly one inch dough balls in sugar&place them 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheets.
Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until edges of cookies just begin to brown.  Remove to wire racks&cool completely.  They last in a an air tight container for up to a week.  Normally they’re gone by then though :0)

 

 

This recipe is adapted from McCormick and Company Inc.

This entry was published on October 10, 2012 at 12:41 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

