Sleep?

I got a record 6 hours of sleep last night.  Well, this morning.  One hour before The Hubby left at 5.30, then from 6.15-10.45 am.  Oh crap, that doesn’t add up.  Eh, close enough.

I’ve been struggling with sleep problems since I left high school.  I’ve also been drinking coffee since 2002ish.  However, if I don’t drink coffee I take a nap four hours after I wake up.  The Hubby&I have tested this theory many times since May.

“Is it a sleep disorder?

Do you . . .

  • feel irritable or sleepy during the day? ((yes))
  • have difficulty staying awake when sitting still, watching television or reading?
  • fall asleep or feel very tired while driving?
  • have difficulty concentrating? ((yes))
  • often get told by others that you look tired? ((yes))
  • react slowly?
  • have trouble controlling your emotions?
  • feel like you have to take a nap almost every day? ((yes))
  • require caffeinated beverages to keep yourself going? ((yes))

If you answered “yes” to any of the previous questions, you may have a sleep disorder.”  Link here.  Oh goody.

According to this website I have Insomnia and Delayed Sleep Phase Disorder.  I don’t normally search for things online, but after getting normally 3-5 hours of sleep or less since June, I’m kinda desperate.

I’ve looked on other websites and the ideas for helping you sleep are the same – have a better diet, get more exercise, tire yourself out.  My body is tired around 10.30pm, it’s just my brain won’t shut up or off.

I’m not keeping a sleep diary.  I have been working out.  When I eat green peppers I have crazy nightmares.  My bedroom is quiet, cool, and dark.  I have to fall asleep to either music or a movie because otherwise I freak myself out.  I’ve had this problem before and Beth Rodgers-Doll, a ballet dancer, photographer, GIR enthusiast, and therapist I saw for a year, told me to try not doing anything in bed until I was ready to fall asleep.  No reading in bed, no writing in bed, no chatting on the phone while sitting on the bed, nothing.  Bed is off limits til bedtime.  That didn’t work, either.

I’ve taken four different kinds of sleeping pills between 2010 and now and they all tire me out the next day or don’t work at all.  So that’s out.

I’ve tried stretching before bed, reading before bed, working out before bed, eating before bed, watching something really boring before bed, and none of it matters.  Although Harry Potter and Young Frankenstein normally put me out before the third line is spoken.  Don’t get me wrong, I love those movies!  I’ve just seen them enough that if I’m watching them in a horizontal position, boom, out.  But it doesn’t last long.

I should just suck it up, accept the fact that I can indeed exist while not sleeping, that I always feel better after a two hour nap after The Hubby leaves, and get shit done while I’m awake, but I’m just feeling so apathetic.  I have two walls in the house left to paint ((that I can reach the ceiling on)) but they haven’t even been taped off.  Instead I’ve watched 5 seasons of How I Met Your Mother, 3 of Bones, 1 of Black Books, 2 of Rizzoli&Isles, finished 7 and a half movies, read 8 books, and made four paper flowers.  In the past two weeks.  How sad is that?

Well, we’ll see.  What do you do when you can’t sleep?

This entry was published on October 4, 2012 at 11:43 am. It’s filed under Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Sleep?

  1. Ugh, I hear ya. I have trouble falling asleep. The only that has helped is reading something mildly interesting without being too exciting. Hah. Good luck! I wish you sleep!

    • I have never found that mix of mildly interesting without being too exciting. I normally either throw myself into reading and have to finish it as soon as possible…. or i get really bored and start skipping paragraphs so i can finish sooner :0)
      Good luck to you as well!

      • Hah–I agree it’s a difficult mix to achieve in one text. There are there rare occasions when an author is able to do so for me :-).

Leave a Reply

