Krazy Kake!

Please ignore the horribly cliche name, it’s a family recipe that’s been around for a while.  This whole weekend has been on again off again sick, not being able to sleep, and family visits, so, naturally, I’ve wanted to bake.  We haven’t been grocery shopping since the week before we got married and we’re out of eggs.  The Hubby and I always go grocery shopping together so I figured I was out of luck.  I googled eggless recipes but most of what I found wanted tofu instead or just sounded weird.  It took about a half hour of me making faces at my laptop before realizing I have eight cookbooks!

Finally – Krazy Kake emerges, triumphant!  Plus you can make mini volcanoes with it.

The recipe really really sounds weird, but I promise it’s good!

Put all the dry ingredients in a 9×13 pan.  I don’t have a sifter so I added it all, then stirred with a fork.

Make three wells in the dry ingredients and add vinegar, oil, and vanilla.  I told you, weird sounding, but VOLCANOES!

Add water and mix with a fork.

Once it’s completely mixed and smooth with as few bubbles as possible, pop in the oven at 325 for a half hour.  Test it with a knife, toothpick, fork, etc

Meanwhile, make frosting!!

Add green food colour & make it mint ❤

Wait until the cake is COMPLETELY cooled.  Then frost it and eat it cool.  Believe me, this cake is good warm with vanilla ice cream, even better cooled by its lonesome.

The Hubby ate more than half of it in fifteen minutes when he got home from work.

Krazy Kake
3 c flour
2 c sugar
1 1/2 c cocoa
2 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp vinegar
3/4 c vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
2 c water

1.Sift together dry ingredients into a 9×13 pan.   If you don’t have a sifter pop em in there and mix with a fork.
2. Make 3 wells and pour in vinegar, veggie oil and vanilla.
3.  Add water and mix with a fork until smooth.
4.  Bake at 325 for 30-35 minutes.

Vanilla Butter Frosting for the Gold Metal Cookbook

1/4 c butter
2 c powdered sugar
1 tsp milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
*I make my mint for this cake so I use 1/2 tsp vanilla and 3/4 tsp mint + a couple drops of green food colour

Mix until completely smooth.
Wait until cake is completely cooled, then frost.

This entry was published on October 1, 2012 at 6:24 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

