Two Types of Potatoes

My Hubby has sadly been deprived of food until he met me.  The first time he had a hamburger he was 14.  He first tried soup at 22.  He has never had squash or green beans, and never tried zucchini, red peppers, eggs, or Thai food until May 2012.  He pretty much grew up on potatoes and cookies.  He LOVES potatoes.

We got back from our honeymoon Thursday and I raided our kitchen to see what we still had that was good – we cleaned it out pretty well before we left, but a few things were left behind in hopes they would survive.  I came up with two types of potatoes – russet and baby red.  You know, I’m not really sure if there really is a whole lot you can do with potatoes…. I like twice baked but they seem to take forever. Hubby likes to pressure cook them and mash them with sour cream.  We both like skillet potatoes and hash browns, but once you get to the homemade part of potatoes – even in making homemade fries – garlic, salt, butter, and parsley always seem to exist together.

I came up with two things and decided to make both of them because they were rather small potatoes and we were really hungry.  ((I got minor food poisoning on Sunday and it’s not been happy trying to eat all week))

He came upstairs while these were in the oven, peeked in, geeked out, and asked if I’d double marry him. He’s pretty great.

The two types are Hasselback potatoes, which you will find a gazillion recipes for if you Google it, and smashed potatoes, which my aunt made while I was living with her, but again, Google it and there’s a ton out there.

The Hasselback Potato
Preheat the oven to 425 F.
Scrub your potatoes – I used 5 Smallish Medium sized Russets
de-eye your potatoes if they need it
Slice potatoes almost all the way thru – be careful not to go straight to the bottom!  I found a gentle sawing motion worked better than my normal slicing one.  Try to keep your slices thin.  Thinner than mine, although mine turned out fine.
Arrange them on a foil covered pan
– – Now, there are a few ways you can do this next part.  Mix everything in a small dish and divide it equally among your potatoes, or do like I did and gestimate.
Drizzle Olive Oil over each potato.  Make sure to get it in the slices, not just doused like my first couple ended up ((see puddle of Olive oil below))

Choose your spices – I used 3/4 tsp Salt, 3/4 tsp Pepper, a pinch of garlic for each potato, and parsley flakes for garnish.  If you mixed them all together, divide them now, making sure to get some down into your slices.  If you throw caution to the wind and never measure, shake it on, baby.
This next part looks weird, but totally worked.  I put a bit of butter on top of each potato – the thought was when it melts in the oven, it’ll melt into the slices and take the spices with it.  TOTALLY WORKED.  I put a bit more parsley on top for colour.
Bake at 425F for 40 minutes – since my oven bakes lopsided, I turned them around after 20.
that hovering fork on the left is Hubby attacking them in attempts that I wouldn’t see it ….

Smashed Potatoes
Preheat oven to 425 F
Grab your baby red potatoes and scrub them
Add them to a pot of water, making sure they are completely covered.
Bring that to a boil and let it cook until those babies are tender.
Once they’re ready, arrange them on a foil lined pan ((I made both these at the same time but you don’t have to.  I started the baby reds first and let them boil while I was slicing and decorating my Hasselbacks)) don’t burn yourself.  They’re hot since they just came out of boiling water.  Yes, I did.
With a potato masher or glass, smash your potatoes!  Smash them a little past half way.  They’ll cook the best here – plus then they’re a mix of mashed and twice baked potatoes.  If you go too far, don’t worry.  I’m sure they’ll be delicious.  ((just don’t use so much pressure on the next one))
Add just a smidgen of olive oil over each potato.
Add salt, pepper, garlic, and parsley ((or whatever spices you’re using)), once again topping with butter and a little more parsley.
Bake for 25 minutes.
These turned out perfect…. Crunchy skins with a soft interior, just the right amount of spice…. We devoured all six in five minutes.

This entry was published on September 21, 2012 at 12:19 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

