Books….

I love books.

I grew up reading books, having books read to me, biking to the library to explore, checking out new books, reading different authors, finding the adult fiction section…. having an adult library card when you’re 13 means you can check out real books and go on the internet!

My mother ran the Friends of the Public Library Book Sale in my hometown.  It was held once every three months ((or so)).  People would bring bags and boxes of old books, donate them, and leave.  We got to sort them. Actually, since we ((my three sisters and I)) were still in middle/high school we were pretty much forced to sort them, but it turned out fine.  Paperback books were 10 cents, hardcover 25 cents.  There was a “special” section where the person running the book sale got to decide how much they would be.

I have a lot of old worn books from there.  I found a lot of cool authors there.  I got hooked on horror there.  I snuck into hiding spots in the basement and read a lot there.

Once upon a time, I decided I’d keep track of what books I’ve read, how I liked them, other authors who wrote in that style, etc, but that didn’t last long.  Lately I’ve been wishing a Netflix for books existed.  No, not the library.  More of a “rate these books and authors and we’ll tell you what books are kind of like that and then you don’t have to wonder if you’ve read the book before!” becuase even librarians can’t always do that.  They haven’t read everything.  Plus, unless there’s some hidden feature in my card, the library doesn’t have a record of books you’ve read.  Even if they do, again, it’s the finding other authors or series thing I want help with.

Within the past year I’ve started taking a picture of books I want to read when I’m in a bookshop and don’t have money ((which is always because I’d love to buy the whole store and stay with the smell of books and adventure)) with my camera phone.  I got around to finding one of these, 10 months later.  They seem to get swallowed up in the pictures of my niece, funny chickens, friends, Etsy projects, my husband, the current weather, and other pretty, shiny, or bright coloured things.

image found here. let’s here it for the art of manliness!

You might not care about my list…. but if you’ve read the books you see listed will you let me know what you thought of them?  And suggest others like them?!  That’d be great :0)

miss peregrine’s home for peculiar children by Ransom Riggs
Incarceron  and Sapphique by Catherine Fisher
Under the Poppy by Kathe Koja
The Lost Gate by Orson Scott Card
Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova
IT by Stephen King
Kushiel’s Legacy series by Jacqueline Carey
Rangers Apprentice series by John Flanagan
In the Woods by Tana French
Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill
The Monk by Matthew Lewis
The Seer King and The Demon King by Chris Bunch
The Mirror of Her Dreams by Stephen Donaldson
Scar Night, Iron Angel, and God of Clocks by Alan Campbell
the Ever Lasting by Leonard Bishop
Dark-Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon
The Liar’s Diary by Patty Francis
The Child Thief by Gerald Brom

I’m sure there are more but I just got back from my honeymoon and I am tired.  Goodnight, blogging friends.  Remember – leave some love for the sake of the books listed :0)

This entry was published on September 19, 2012 at 10:30 pm. It’s filed under Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

