food 019

Beef Stew

In my family you got to choose what you wanted for dinner on your birthday.  Being a June baby that’s problematic for me because I love soup.  My favorite has always been potato soup with homemade bread.  My mother was never happy with that because it’s the middle of summer, I want hot dinner, and she had to use the oven.  She wasn’t uber put out by my request, but would often ask if I was sure I didn’t want to go out to eat instead.

A couple years ago I learned how to make Italian Stew ((amazing)) and then last month I found this recipe over at movita beaucoup.  She’s another WordPresser.

It looked amazing.  It sounded amazing.  I even have a crock pot!  And it was just starting to get cold enough for me to rationalize making soup two times a week to The Hubby, who doesn’t like soup because “It’s too liquidy.”

This surprisingly easy and delicious to make.  If you headed over to Rachael the ballet teachers ((how much cooler can she get?)) page you’ll notice our recipes are different.

I didn’t really change it, I just have a pansy crock pot.  But a cute one.  That and I hate onions.  Here’s what I did instead:

Beef Stew

1 lb of stewing beef, trimmed and cut into 1 inch cubes
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
cute little container of chopped celery from the deli at Festival ((rougly two stalks of celery))
2 mini packets of baby carrots, chopped  ((roughly a cupish))
11 unpeeled baby red potatoes, some cut into fourths, some in half, some left whole
14 1/2 oz. can stewed tomatoes
some basil, oregano, parsley, black pepper, and a smidgen garlic powder to make Italian Seasoning
2 cups sodium reduced beef broth, divided
1 cup frozen peas
1/4 cups all-purpose flour

Put the olive oil in a medium sized skillet, heat it, and brown the cubes of beef.  Don’t worry about doing it all at once, they’ll all have their turn.  Set them aside when done and keep your left over drippings.
Pop the entire can on tomatoes into the slow cooker. Add potatoes first, then celery and carrots. Sprinkle the “Italian seasoning” over the vegetables and then add the beef and any accumulated drippings. Pour 1 1/2 cups of the beef broth over the beef and vegetables and mix a bit.
Cover and cook on high for 4 hours.
After that time, pop the peas on top. In a small bowl whisk together the flour and remaining 1/2 cup of beef broth, creating a smooth paste. I used a fork and added the flour slowly so it wouldn’t clump.  Stir it and the peas into the stew. Put the lid back on and leave on high for about 10-15 more minutes.
Serve with bread sticks.
Yum.

This entry was published on November 18, 2012 at 4:40 pm. It’s filed under Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Beef Stew

  1. Yippie! I’m so glad you liked it – and that you managed to fit it into your pansy crock!

  2. That. looks. DELISH!!!!! I am SO going to have to try and possibly attempt to make this!! Easy and yummy are my two middles names :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

